top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

Impact of the Growth Mindset

Updated: May 10, 2021

Dear learners of the world,


This is an open letter to YOU! Years ago, I learned about the idea of having a "Growth Mindset." As a teacher, I was specifically told by school administrations to encourage my students to EMBRACE this philosophy! Okay, sounds great right? Sure! We should all be "growing." Wrong. No one actually taught me about what the "Growth Mindset" really entailed, explained HOW it would work, or WHY it would ultimately assist with improving learning and efficiency in the classroom.


Many years have since passed by, and I'm now called to dive into the idea of "Growth Mindset" once again. But this time around, it's all starting to make sense! Especially through the assistance of reading of Carol S. Dweck's (2017) book Mindset which clearly explains and exemplifies this idea through a combination of science, inquiry, and anecdotal evidence. Let me show you, through an infographic I created:


I created this infographic to include the introductory actions and reflections I followed myself when learning more about the "growth mindset." It begins with understanding, then transitions into the actions of positive self-speak, identifying red flags, overcoming obstacles, and finally finding strength through these shifts in perspective.


So, now what... ?


Ultimately, there are some easy and CONCRETE steps you and I can all follow to help us improve our own "Growth Mindsets!" I'm currently continuing along this journey myself and am seeking to utilize these upcoming four steps to strengthen my personal mindset both within my classroom. I am also attempting to apply these concepts into my business.


Another valiant leader surrounding the "Growth Mindset" includes Scott Jeffrey (2016) who discusses these concepts in depth within his own website entitled CEOsage. Here he explained and broke down easy-to-implement ideas for strengthening our own mindsets.


According to his ideas, I created an additional infographic to help us easily follow and create our own "growth mindset" plan:


When combined, these steps can prove to create powerful results! See for yourself as you travel along the "Growth Mindset" journey together, with me.


Here is how I am personally following each of Jeffrey's steps:


Step One - Identify

Sometimes I am made aware of the negative inner dialogue that takes place when I challenge myself and this used to slow me down, but now I know when it happens and can try to remain on-track instead!


Step Two - Acknowledge

Since I know how my mind loves to overthink, I have been practicing mindfulness techniques by applying them into my daily routines. This has significantly shifted my brain away from negative thoughts and energies allowing me to have more time and energy for things I love and want to do!


Step Three - Take Action

Despite the current world climate, I have continued to find ways to challenge my "capacity" for learning new things. I still seek out new knowledge such as: taking a sewing class, reading, taking graduate courses, learning a new recipe from YouTube, studying the basics of real estate, etc. It has been so empowering to break through my own glass ceiling again and again.


Step Four - Empower

Empowering myself has never been my own strong suit, however I have been working on positive affirmations and also journaling to remind myself that I can do anything I set my mind to. I also now find myself enjoying setting goals and making action plans! How neat is that... from inaction to action! It's working!! I hope you can find strength from following these steps as well.


But, in the workplace...?

Both of these infographics I created can be used in a variety of ways, including but not limited to: downloaded and shared in emails to coworkers, printed and hung up around offices as reminders, used as large posters within classroom settings, placed around university campus billboards, projected during PD meetings, printed off small and used as bookmarks, placed into brochures for spreading awareness, and more!


My overall plan is to have these infographics hanging up in my classroom after explaining "Growth Mindset" to my students. I can then refer to them throughout the remainder of the school year! I also seek to share my findings with coworkers at school during year-level meetings, with the hope of igniting a passion through all teachers at my school teaching this grade level. In addition to this, my plan is to have these steps on my business website and visible during workshop events, just in case a learning moment can be cultivated through to action.


Hopefully you can learn to apply these steps and skills within your classroom, workplace, home, and/or anywhere else you might be! We can be held accountable for assisting each other's growth and overall well-being. Comment below with ideas you have for implementing these steps in your own life!


Sincerely,

Hannah


"If we learn quick and grow strong, then together we can change the world."



Additional Resources:

TedTalk Video - "The power of believing that you can improve" Carol Dweck

Take the "Mindset" Quiz Online

Visual representation of "Fixed vs Growth" Mindset

List of further reading and research by Carol S. Dweck




62 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page