top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

Instructional Design - My Online Course Implementation


It's time for take-off! It's candle-making time!


The introductory sections of my candle-making course are on the move and ready for some field testing. I am excited to receive some feedback, questions, and improvement ideas!

To begin my course, I will make sure students GET EXCITED to make their SOY candles!


How will I do this? Through a few "sneak peek" photos and videos throughout the introductory lessons. One example would be the photo above as well as this video, below:


When it comes to getting everyone excited, it's best to work through new information at a rate in which every "learner" can be and feel successful. This is why I am very excited to be hosting my online learning course through the Udemy.com website. Anyone around the world can purchase the coy candle-making class and work through each module at a pace which best suits them. How great!!


My class will be called "The Art & Science of Soy Candle-Making."


Since this class is 100% online and asynchronous, I wanted to make sure everyone felt like they were receiving MAXIMUM learning benefits. So, along their science journey, I will also be providing students with additional ways in which to understand, learn from, and interact with these materials. These additional learning tasks will include:


- Quizlet lists of vocabulary terms

- Interactive timelines to study

- Flashcards for remembering key tools and safety terms

- A direct email address for them to ask me questions

- Connection possibilities for co-working and networking

- Encouraging social media engagement through Facebook, Instagram, or TikTok


Example of Ways for Engagement and Connection

Above is an example of one way students taking this course can turn this isolated candle course into a CONNECTED one.


I will also continue to create additional modules for this course by utilizing the Screencastify Google Chrome extension. I have created several slideshows for the introduction that I would like to combine with a video of myself talking over and explaining each step of the way (see screenshot pictured below). When it comes to the actual CANDLE-MAKING process, I will be making these videos with a camera set up in my kitchen to show everyone how it's done safely.


Example of Slideshow



  • If you would like to see a detailed OUTLINE of the entire course for once it's completed in its entirety, then you can view that HERE on my ePortfolio.


  • If you would like to see an example of how I will QUIZ students on their essential oil knowledge, then you can view the Quizlet list I've made for interactive learning HERE.


  • Another way I would like to build out more of this course will be to create an infographic timeline all about essential oils and their benefits. An example of that can be seen HERE.


  • I have also started to make interactive quiz games which can help learners better understand what they are learning along the way. One of those game can be found HERE.

The above listed items will be beneficial for all students throughout their journey on Udemy's website! I hope to continue adding resources, games, and ways for students to connect with me and with each other as they learn and create through my online course!



As mentioned above, I NEED YOUR HELP!


Please review the materials presented above...

...and this video posted below...

to help me review my work and progress so far!


Link to VIDEO on YouTube


Thanks so much, in advance, for watching my video and your help specifically in assisting me with the creation of this online candle-making course!


I look forward to your advice, reviews, and comments.

25 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page