top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

My Development of a Growth Mindset Plan

Updated: Jul 26, 2021


(Larkin, 2018)


To Reflect, or Not to Reflect


Throughout the last few months, I've thought through the benefits of having a Growth Mindset almost daily!


But what is it and how has my perspective of having a Growth Mindset shifted over time?


While reading Carol S. Dweck's (2017) book Mindset, it clearly explained and exemplified how our own thoughts and ideas effect our understanding through a combination of science, inquiry, and anecdotal evidence. This can be critical for any type of achievement success!


What was my original understanding of these ideas? Please visit my previous post here: https://hanmarie103.wixsite.com/teaching/post/impact_of_the_growth_mindset

Through reading the infographic I created on the page, it will help you further understand the concepts of having a Growth Mindset as well as a sneak peek into the way I interpreted the information learned throughout the last course of readings, videos, and group discussions.


The GROWTH MINDSET Plan


Step One - Identify

Sometimes I am made aware of the negative inner dialogue that takes place when I challenge myself and this used to slow me down, but now I know when it happens and can try to remain on-track instead!


In connection to my innovation plan, I will identify class strengths and weaknesses and make sure to also target student needs before deciding how to implement elements of blended learning into daily lesson plans.


Step Two - Acknowledge

Since I know how my mind loves to overthink, I have been practicing mindfulness techniques by applying them into my daily routines. This has significantly shifted my brain away from negative thoughts and energies allowing me to have more time and energy for things I love and want to do!


In connection to my innovation plan, I will acknowledge my own hurdles make sure that students see my own growth mindset and that they are made aware of how they can also apply growth mindset and mindfulness techniques into their daily lives, including when they are at school. They will hopefully see the benefits almost immediately.


Step Three - Take Action

Despite the current world climate, I have continued to find ways to challenge my "capacity" for learning new things. I still seek out new knowledge such as: taking a sewing class, reading, taking graduate courses, learning a new recipe from YouTube, studying the basics of real estate, etc. It has been so empowering to break through my own glass ceiling again and again.


In connection to my innovation plan, I will take action to make sure to communicate effectively with colleagues about how blended learning can benefit all learners and also create extra time for teachers to focus on the most important aspects of teaching and differentiation.


Step Four - Empower

Empowering myself has never been my own strong suit, however I have been working on positive affirmations and also journaling to remind myself that I can do anything I set my mind to. I also now find myself enjoying setting goals and making action plans! How neat is that... from inaction to action! It's working!! I hope you can find strength from following these steps as well.


In connection to my innovation plan, I will make sure to empower students so that they can track and trace their own understanding and learning growth! This will create a significant learning environment in which students curate their own intrinsic motivation and push themselves beyond where they thought themselves previously capable!


But, the PLAN in the workplace environment...?

Both of these infographics I created can be used in a variety of ways, including but not limited to: downloaded and shared in emails to coworkers, printed and hung up around offices as reminders, used as large posters within classroom settings, placed around university campus billboards, projected during PD meetings, printed off small and used as bookmarks, placed into brochures for spreading awareness, and more!


My overall plan is to have these infographics hanging up in my classroom after explaining "Growth Mindset" to my students. I can then refer to them throughout the remainder of the school year! I also seek to share my findings with coworkers at school during year-level meetings, with the hope of igniting a passion through all teachers at my school teaching this grade level. In addition to this, my plan is to have these steps on my business website and visible during workshop events, just in case a learning moment can be cultivated through to action.


Hopefully you can learn to apply these steps and skills within your classroom, workplace, home, and/or anywhere else you might be! We can be held accountable for assisting each other's growth and overall well-being. What ideas do you have for implementing these steps in your own life?


But, the PLAN in developing a growth mindset within learners...?


Having a growth mindset can be influential when it comes to learning and critical for overall success. In the classroom, teachers can help develop this skill!


Creating a significant learning environment can substantially impact learners either positively or negatively. The presence of a growth mindset can drastically improve chances for success, but more than the "correct" mindset is needed. Other factors must be considered, like the attitude of the teacher or instructor, the safety of the classroom itself, the communication practice which takes place between peers, teaching and learning styles of the educator and the students, time spent together and trust built, the relevance and rigor of assignments given, the structure of the lessons presented, and so much more. Everything should be considered an important aspect of learning! Especially, when it comes to creating the perfect environment for learning.

One simple way is to become a role model for having a growth mindset. To show students that we are not only teachers, but also lifelong learners. We try new things. Sometimes we fail at trying new things and we don’t give up. One example was when I explained to my students how I’ve never played an instrument in my life, but I had always wanted to try. So I bought a ukulele thinking it would be an “easy” instrument since it only has four strings. Well, playing on rhythm is tough. Learning the finger positions is tough. Trying new strumming patterns is tough. And trying to sing and play at the same time… is also tough! I could have given up. Instead, I tried little bits at a time until I felt too frustrated to continue. I knew that I couldn’t play the ukulele, YET. Until one day, it clicked! And I was able to strum a song while also singing along. Now I record songs on my laptop and I’m teaching myself something new: GarageBand. This little example had my students on the edge of their seats, listening. Many of their teachers don’t share personal anecdotes and it was refreshing for them to see me as a real person. I always encourage my students to be real and make personal connections during group discussion and personal reflection assignments, so I make sure to be a good example of this too.

Passion and perseverance for long term goals is how Angela Lee Duckworth (2013) explained the term “grit” within her TedTalk speech. She used this explanation to show which people might show success in the real world, their jobs. Can this be applied to students as well? Certainly! Grit can be another way to explain having a growth mindset. Having stamina for years instead of days has been shown to highly influence a strong work ethic and create internal motivation. Talent or money doesn’t equal success and this can be a relief for many of us. Some students are so preoccupied with grades that they fail to see the benefits of simply TRYING. Sometimes this pressure comes from home and family lives or specifically from parents. I try to encourage a safe classroom environment for trying new things, tough things, for students pushing themselves to extend learning tasks. It’s very rewarding to see which students take on the challenge and flourish because of it!

So, it’s up to us in the field of education to help our students be okay with failing and trying again! Getting “grittier” can help us all within aspects of our lives, our young students included.


So there's my plan and conclusion.

I'll ask, how have you helped encourage growth mindsets in YOUR classroom?





Bibliography


Duckworth, A. L. (2013, May 13). Grit: The Power Of Passion And Perseverance.

Www.youtube.com. https://www.youtube.com/watch?


v=H14bBuluwB8&feature=emb_imp_woyt


Dweck, C. S. (2017). Mindset. Robinson, An Imprint Of Little, Brown Book Group.


Larkin, H. (2018). Developing a Growth Mindset. BetterLesson; BetterLesson.


https://betterlesson.com/strategy/155/developing-a-growth-mindset

23 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page