top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

My Philosophies on Teaching, Learning, and Growing


(Miller, 2014)


Learning is like gardening. One cannot simply transform from seed to bloomed flower overnight. Instead it takes a healthy combination of dirt, sun, water, pressure, and time. This is how we learn. This is how we grow. Sir Ken Robinson (2008) even explained that teachers can be similar to gardeners because they cannot force anything to grow, but instead focus on preparing the best growing conditions (Chausis, 2010). In the classroom, it can be the same.


The Relationship Between Teaching & Learning


When recently reflecting upon myself as a teacher and the classroom environments I have created over the last decade, I noticed something. I realized that I take on two very important, but distinct roles: both a teacher and a learner. I also realized that my students take on these roles of learners and teachers. So then I began to think deeper and question. Why?

Myself as a Learner


While growing up, my family moved every two or three years to a new city, new school, and occasionally even to a new state. These frequent changes could be seen to some as chaotic, but to me it became always new and exciting. Moving meant a few things: new house, new neighborhood, new teachers, new classmates and friends, new foods and restaurants, new museums, new road trip opportunities, new parks and walking paths. Despite almost everything being new, there was one thing that remained constant: my family. They always encouraged my younger brother and me to play, learn, grow, and try new things. My growth mindset strengthened! As an older sister, I also fell into the role of teacher when it came to my young sibling. Additionally, my parents often worked with young children and youth of local neighborhoods, so I also became a stronger teacher through attending and supervising these events and activities.


Believe it or not, despite all of these signs, I still didn’t realize that education was my passion until sophomore year of college! That’s when my “official” teaching journey began.


Learning vs Teaching Philosophy


Throughout the world of education, many theorists have contrived names, definitions, and descriptions for “ways to learn” and “ways to teach.” These fundamental concepts can be traced back to as early as Plato and Aristotle; however, it wasn’t until the 1900s that official terms and labels were given (Robert, 2017). So what is MY learning philosophy and how could I describe MY typical teaching theories?

(History of Learning Theories, 2018)


As I, myself, was growing up and going through the education system in the United States, I believe I had the whole gamut of teacher types. From behaviorists I learned that a star sticker on my math homework meant a job well done. I collected these stickers onto my notebook cover and friends gained a competitive edge. From Humanists I learned that art, writing, and nature could help make me become a better citizen. In nature, I realized that I could feel more like myself. From Cognitivists I became a visual learner through mind maps and learned how to respectfully disagree and share opinions. In these classrooms, independent inquiry was encouraged. From Constructionists I learned that by reading, I can find solutions. These classrooms were sprinkled with project-based learning projects. Overall, these ideas can be seen as BOTH “learning” and “teaching” philosophies, depending upon which way the lens is being viewed, from the giving or receiving end of school classrooms.


My Learning Theory


When thinking about how I learn best in the real world, I find that Connectivism most suits my own personal needs. Connectivism is a relatively new learning theory that came about from George Siemens in the 2000s. Within his writing, he focused on eight basic principles which included ideas about the importance of thought diversity, connecting ideas, utilizing technology, continuous learning through long-term connections, and having the flexibility to change and adapt while working through the process of learning (Bell, 2011).


In this way, I learn best. So why not also create my classroom in this way? Even though many school environments tend to lean toward classical styles of teaching (the same ways in which students’ parents and their parents were taught), I don’t see why classrooms in the 2020s shouldn’t SHIFT to accommodate a new and ever-changing world of instant infinite knowledge at the tips of our fingers through technology.


So connectivism it is!


Implementation and Support


So how does Connectivism look in my classroom?

Great question!

Next, I’ll explain a few examples from my actual lessons to help illuminate the overall idea of how students can embrace a connectivist learning approach.


  • One day, a history lesson began with individual curiosity on a topic. For example, a student wondered, “How does modern farm equipment today compare to that of tools from ancient Egypt?” This then became a group-supported research project after noticing that several students held curiosities surrounding the same ideas of ancient agricultural systems.

  • After learning about plot-diagramming parts of a story, every student shared their opinion about which section of a book is the best part. Some students chose exposition, inciting incident, rising action, etc and stood around the room with other students who also believed the same. The class groups then had ten minutes to discuss WHY they found this part of a book to be most important and also explain HOW. After the ten minutes finished, each group had a chance on stage to “persuade” their fellow classmates to join their team. Other students could then choose to LEAVE their group and join another if they were convinced by the speeches given.


If these sound like GREAT ways of instructing and learning to you, then you may also side with Connectivist theories and approaches to learning!


Connecting, Innovating, and Creating Change


When it comes down to creating a significant learning environment, it is essential to focus on the differentiated needs of all learners. The idea of Blended Learning within my current innovation proposal connects directly back to the fundamentals of Connectivist learning theories and the importance of both differentiation and student motivation. Choice, ownership, voice, authenticity, and relevance are also key components which can support students as they play the roles of both learners and teachers. Their intrinsic motivation in turn, inspires great change! It’s such a relief to see growth mindsets within current classroom environments.


I hope you also were able to consider how classrooms are like gardens, they just need to right conditions and growth is sure to happen!


References


Bell, F. (2011, March). View of Connectivism: Its Place In Theory-Informed Research And I


Innovation In Technology-Enabled Learning | The International Review of Research in


Open and Distributed Learning. Www.irrodl.org.


http://www.irrodl.org/index.php/irrodl/article/view/902/1664


Chausis, C. (2010). Teachers Are Like Gardeners [YouTube Video]. In Sir Ken Robinson at


Full Sail University. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aT_121H3kLY


History of Learning Theories. (2018). The University of Hong Kong.


https://kb.edu.hku.hk/learning_theory_history/


Miller, A. (2014, February 20). Teachers Are Learning Designers. Edutopia; George Lucas


Educational Foundation. https://www.edutopia.org/blog/teachers-are-learning-


designers-andrew-miller


Robert, P. (2017, October 30). Six Learning Theories. Pressbooks.com; International


Association for Mobile Learning. https://iamlearning.pressbooks.com/chapter/six-


learning-theories/

21 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page