top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

A Handshake - Extending Your Learning Networks

Updated: Apr 27, 2022


As an educator, it's critical to continue learning both personally and professionally. Unfortunately, this can oftentimes be seen as something scary or nearly impossible with our busy lives and lifestyles.


But it doesn't have to be!


With a growth mindset and the ease of technology today, it's simple to extend "digital handshakes" within online environments where your learning can continue and your educational curiosities are allowed to roam freely.


So first of all, what IS a Professional Learning Network?


Image Source: (Morris, 2018)


In the simplest of ways EdWeek.org (Crowley, 2015) explains how a Professional Learning Network is a group or series of connections where a teacher can ask questions, reflect, and grow together!


Sounds pretty great, right? Well, it is!


In the next few sections, I'll elaborate upon a few technology resources that I am utilizing and also share about how YOU can get more involved with growing and strengthening your own professional network.


Me -

As I’ve been personally exploring and reviewing some Professional Learning Networks recently, I have realized that I am already included within a few! Specifically, after completing my professional development course from the University of Iowa entitled “POLI 3701 Special Topics in Politics” from the Institute on Civic Engagement, I joined a Facebook group which included all of the teachers from the course! That was way back in 2015, so I feel like I have had a great jump start in understanding such networks and utilizing them to learn from others as well as for asking questions! The members of this group continue discussing in-depth teaching dialogues and pass along research studies. How great!


You -

Think about places you have studied or taken professional development courses. Maybe a local area education agency or university? Do a quick Google search to see if they have a Facebook page, Twitter, or business Instagram page you could follow. You'll quickly see posts for upcoming workshops, webinars, and they may even ask if you'd like to sign up for weekly newsletters to receive for free via email! It's a great and easy way to reconnect with and learn from companies you already know and trust.


Me -

In 2017, I became “Newsela Certified Educator” through a few trainings! This allowed me to not only help my students significantly through the use of this amazingly versatile reading comprehension website, but also put me into a leadership role within my school institution so I could help other teachers utilize the website too! I went into coworker's classrooms to give demonstrations and even led an engaging professional development session. Plus, the Newsela online resources, community page, differentiation teaching options, online analytics, immediate student feedback, and weekly emails allowed me to continue learning and researching best practices for implementation.


You -

Think about a website you know and love to use within your classroom. Visit that website and see if they have a "learn more" or "community" section. They may have free trainings, videos to watch, articles to supplement their resources, or even offer a space for you to ask questions. Some companies even offer free training courses and certifications. This can be a great way to strengthen the technology tools you already utilize.


Me -

I have memberships with a few professional educator associations as well, including the International Society for Educational Technology (ISET), the International Literacy Association (ILA), the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) which help me with professional development! With these sites, I am doing the learning. It's so refreshing! The weekly emails are helpful for becoming aware of upcoming conferences, resources, video chats, and blog posts from guest teachers around the world. Memberships sometimes also come with offline benefits such as quarterly magazines and resource materials from teaching professionals.


You -

Consider your teaching strengths and specialities, then search the web for professional teaching memberships covering these topics! Many are free, but some do require yearly fees so be sure to read each website carefully. These teaching memberships are great boosts to discuss with colleagues and add onto your resume!




Beyond gathering a few personal resources, I also have two below that I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone to join now. These digitally-based tools are for teachers, businesspeople, CEOs, and beyond:


My two TOP favorite tech additions to my own Professional Learning Networks include -

  1. the Clubhouse app - a drop-in audio-only app. Similar to a vlog or podcast, but LIVE and with no video streaming. I actually have made my own clubhouse and host regular conversations every Wednesday and Sunday, often inviting guest speakers to join me “on stage!” It’s great to talk with other professionals on a variety of topics. Moderation of each clubroom is simple and each host can approve/deny audience participation. This network has specifically helped me strengthen my personal BUSINESS and also allowed others to ask questions, growing along with me. You can learn or share ANYTHING with the Clubhouse app. I would highly recommend it, especially if your job or hobbies include anything outside (or inside) the realm of education.

  2. Share My Lesson - a learning community for teachers. This is my FAV for education! They host daily free webinars to attend, chats with professionals which would normally cost hundreds of dollars for a ticket, and offer amazing ideas and support on their website. It’s really a go-to one stop shop for professional development, free online resource evaluation/recommendations, and bolstering your teaching ideas! I would highly recommend signing up for their emails! I have learned so much and always encourage my fellow peers to join.


Higher Education


Alongside the resources and ideas mentioned above, I also recently completed my Master's of Education Degree from Lamar University through their Digital Leading and Learning program.


If you feel strongly that organized, professional courses are the best way for you to learn more and GROW through your teaching strengths, then I would also encourage you to look into perusing higher degree courses. Your local community college or university probably offers a wide range of classes that can push your teaching methods to the next level for the best support of your students and their unique needs.


Not sure which program to choose? HERE is a list to get you started. It's easy to edit the filters to fit your coursework needs.



Focus on Growth Mindset


If you still feel stuck, maybe try a brainstorming session, a think tank with a friend, or create your very own growth mindset development plan. Mine is linked within the previous sentence if you'd like a resource to help you get started.



Thank you for reading through my Professional Learning Network ideas and strategies. It is my hope that each suggestion was helpful and will allow you to smile, learn, and grow on this educational technology journey with me!




Resources


Crowley, B. (2015, January 1). 3 steps for building a professional learning network

(opinion). Education Week; EdWeek.org. https://www.edweek.org/leadership/opinion-3-

steps-for-building-a-professional-learning-

network/2014/12#:~:text=A%20professional%20learning%20network%20is

Morris, K. (2018, August 16). Step 1: what is a PLN? ECourses & PD; EDUBlogs.

https://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/pln-define/

21 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page