top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

How Authentic Learning Becomes Contagious


COVA and CSLE have become the basic foundation of my teaching philosophy and core for my personal growth mindset. Let's explore these educational ideas in more detail:

COVA CSLE choice ownership voice authenticity authentic creating significant learning environments Lamar ADL

COVA


While I was young growing up and going through school, the very first time I had CHOICE, OWNERSHIP, VOICE, and AUTHENTICITY was in middle school, where my gifted and talented classes were formatted around the structure of project-based learning. COVA just wasn’t something that often occurred in education throughout the 90s and 2000s. Based upon my reading and research, it also didn’t happen often in classrooms before my generation either. I have fond memories of building castles and filming “a day in the life of a medieval farmer” with some friends in my living room, sitting at a desk and creating my own flag design using scraps of cloth, and becoming a thespian while acting out old, famous lines of poetry. Getting older and entering into high school then squashed that creativity, that freedom to learn and apply my studies. COVA was not present within the halls of my high school.


Now, as an adult entering into 10 years of teaching experience, I can think back to my FAVORITE teachers and try my hardest to replicate the BEST lessons I can recall from my childhood. I also have the ability to research and add additional “best practices” into my teaching methodology to improve upon the tried-and-true strategies I already implement every day in the classroom. Reflection and having a growth mindset have been invaluable tools in my belt that I am always grateful for and know I can utilize at any time.


I will never forget my first Master’s degree live video class, when it was explained to us that we were about to CHOOSE our topic of study for our whole educational technology program. I nearly entered into a panic attack! Me? Choose my OWN research topic for ALL of my M.Ed. program and coursework? How would I ever decide? Why don’t we all learn about the SAME studies? My mind was spinning. At that moment, I did not yet know or understand the blessing behind this freedom of choice. I was used to the world telling me WHAT to do, WHEN, and HOW. This first class threw me into the COVA mindset before I even knew it had a name and a purpose.


Today, it all seems so clear. I now understand the perspective of that first rigorous, fanatical, stampede of a course. The anxiety of unadulterated choice. The knowledge of how powerful it can be to harness your own true authenticity. These are things I have discovered through this Master’s Degree program of Applied Digital Learning at Lamar University. I was able to find my VOICE and realize that I too have the strength to take ownership of learning into my own hands. It’s life changing to discover the power I have within to share my experiences, to make a positive difference among my coworkers and the whole school campus.


From my very first course, I focused on the research-based best practice of Blended Learning. My studies have led me down some amazing rabbit holes of information that I haven't yet heard about within educational settings. The benefits of this practice are immeasurable and I am so very thankful that I will be able to continue placing my knowledge in good hands through my own teaching, learning, growing, sharing, and coaching.




CSLE


When thinking about the creation of my classroom setup each school year, I take many aspect of learning and of my students into consideration. CSLE is a great way to explain and break down these thoughts and reasons behind the choices of physical classroom orientation spaces. Creating Significant Learning Environments is crucial for the success of everyone within the school community!


When considering each segment of the CSLE model, it's important to make note of the fact that CSLE cannot be successful without COVA. They are collaborative! Teamwork makes the dream work. Keeping this in mind, there are a few specifics that I find to be most important when it comes to classroom construction.


My goal beyond the completion of this M.Ed. program is to focus on teaching, coaching, and implementing the benefits of Blended Learning for all learners.


I understand that education within a safe learning space is crucial for students and adults alike, so within school communities this cannot be stressed enough. No one will learn long division in math class or best practice strategies in professional development meetings if they don't feel cared for, understood, and well-supported. As I continue on my journey as a lifelong learner, I hope to instill this as a top priority in all that I do.


...because as we all well know, having a growth mindset is pivotal for the completion of successful endeavors!





For further reading:




References


Harapnuik, D. (n.d.). CSLE+COVA. Harapnuik.org. https://www.harapnuik.org/?


page_id=6988 It’s About Learning: Creating Significant Learning Environments

Harapnuik, D., Thibodeaux, T., & Cummings, C. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice


through Authentic Learning. In Harapnuik.org (Version 0.9). Creative Commons


License. https://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=7291


Online M.Ed. Applied Digital Learning at Lamar University. (n.d.). Lamar University Online.


Retrieved February 7, 2022, from https://degree.lamar.edu/programs/master-of-


education-in-applied-digital-learning/

18 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page