top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

Where I've Been & Where I'm Going

Updated: May 13, 2021

5302 - Concepts of Education Technology - Compilation & Reflection Post


Hop on this rollercoaster with me! Let's goooooo...


While looking back to reflect over these first two classes within Lamar University's "Applied Digital Learning" graduate degree program, I have realized that I not only learned a significant amount of new information in connection to the field of education but I also learned a significant amount about myself along this roller coaster track as well!


That's the goal, right?


Isn't that what learning is all about? Despite the ups and downs, it can be rewarding to grow both internally and externally, witnessing and allowing those changes to take root and make deep, positive impacts. Allowing even small changes to take place within your passion can start a ripple effect!


Growth Mindset


One of the first assignments I was asked to complete for these courses was surrounding the idea of having a "growth mindset." This phrase was previously familiar to me and OVERUSED within school systems I have worked. Unfortunately, those words had garnered a negative connotation through my eyes. Fortunately, however, this course has shown me the real meaning of "growth mindset" and has even paved the way for me to properly implement some of the basic practices associated with this life-changing way of thinking and doing. Dweck's book Mindset (Dweck, 2017) was a great read and better expressed many ideas surrounding the benefits of implementing these mindset shifts into the classroom and throughout life and "the real world" as well.

Image Source: (Revach, 2021)


The impact of a growth mindset can really set one person far beyond the others. I've recently noticed it strongly within (or missing from) family members, friends, coworkers, administrators, and beyond. It's surprising (or maybe not so surprising) to see how FAR your close friends and family members with a growth mindset can go in a very short amount of time! I love encouraging and witnessing their gains and accomplishments. It's also been amazing for myself to reflect inwardly upon everything that I have personally accomplished in my life throughout the last four years, the last six months, and even only the last eight weeks! A bit of strategic journaling had reminded me of everything I should be proud of completing.


As I move forward with the next parts of this program, it is my goal to continue to focus on strengthening my growth mindset and to remind myself of the benefits of this educational thinking and strategy model. I am thankful that it's deeply integrated into my innovation plan so that it can be a constant reminder to never give up!


Learning Manifesto


A learning manifesto is simply a statement of what you BELIEVE in and explains what's most IMPORTANT to you. It is also considered a declaration of your ideas and intentions (Definition of MANIFESTO, 2019).


One of my all-time favorite manifestos includes a series of best-practice ideologies for considering how to teach middle school students:

Image Source: (AMLE, 2010)


When considering the creation of my own learning manifesto, I took some of these principles into consideration! The Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) is actually one of the professional learning networks (PLN) I have joined, which you will read about in the link within next section below.


While composing my manifesto, I also thoroughly thought about what parts of my classroom environment and overall teaching values are non-negotiable. These I knew to be crucial for my must-haves on the list! It also became very apparent that the COVA ideas of: choice, ownership, voice, and authenticity continued to be relayed throughout the messages and explanations of my final learning manifesto. What great connections I was able to make!


Professional Learning Networks


When it comes to being a teacher, we know that sometimes we feel "stuck" or it seems as if our teaching has "plateaued." Both of these feelings aren't fun to experience! This roadblock can be avoided if teachers continue to learn and grow, seeking new knowledge and a variety of up-and-coming resources.


As a middle school teacher, I know that my curiosity must always be quenched! I find that research, inquiry, and learning from others never gets old for me. Day one of researching is just as fun as day twenty and I am very thankful for this ability to stay motivated and curious.


Because of this, it's critical to continue to branch out, learning new things through webinars, websites, videos, articles, magazines, emails, apps, etc. One easy way to do this is my expanding your Professional Learning Network.

Image Source: (Watson, n.d.)


For this graduate course, it was definitely fun to research additional professional learning networks and communities. The strengthening and growing of my support system continues to be an exciting part of my life-long learning process and it keeps those "stuck" feelings at bay. Plus, it's great to walk into work and share new ideas with coworkers!


Failing is a part of life. But it's what you do afterward that really shows your mindset! With a growth mindset, failing can be seen as "failing forward" providing momentum to try again or find a different solution. This is my motivation for the excitement of beginning my next two courses for this "Applied Digital Learning" graduate program! I am very much looking forward to seeing what I can learn and implement next.


Thanks for joining this exciting ride with me.


~Hannah





References


AMLE. (2010). This We Believe. The association for middle level education.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-

MgOGvXH2OeY/UDTtWsGMfwI/AAAAAAAAAIA/gavrqUvLtwE/s1600/

TWB_Color_Chart.jpg


Definition of MANIFESTO. (2019). Merriam-Webster.com. https://www.merriam-


Dweck, C. S. (2017). Mindset. Robinson, An Imprint Of Little, Brown Book Group.


Revach, A. (2021, January 24). Fixed vs growth mindset; beliefs that shape your life.

UXPlanet. https://uxplanet.org/fixed-vs-growth-mindset-beliefs-that-shape-your-life-

93a1b5f9b26a


Watson. (n.d.). Professional learning networks. MRS WATSON’S CLASS WEBSITE.

https://mrswatsonsweb.weebly.com/professional-learning-networks.html




19 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page