top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Anderson

Innovation Project Experience & Reflection


When it comes to innovation, what comes to mind first?


Robots?

Radio-wave technology?

The International Space Station?


Innovation can only occur through the act of modification. Change can only occur when we try something new! So what about the field of education? What's new and what's coming up next?

(Stevens, 2016)


This post will be a self-reflection.


Considering where I started on this journey one year ago, I am now considerably more knowledgeable about ideas surrounding upcoming trends and best practices for school classrooms and communities.


Let's look at a few questions in more detail:


  • Identify and reflect on all the components and work you have done so far.

Before beginning to brainstorm ideas for the creation of my Innovation Plan, I first realized I had to do some introspection. Reflection was necessary to know more about myself. What kind of teacher am I? What ways of learning will be my focus? What will my overall goals be for myself and my students?


These initial questions lead to the creation of my Learning Manifesto and my Teaching Philosophy ePortfolio posts. I was able to assemble my thoughts and assess my strengths in my classroom and throughout a school campus environment. I realized that having a strong community and a Significant Learning Environment is essential for everyone's success within the school!


  • Identify where are you in your innovation project. What, if anything, do you have to complete?

My Innovation Plan and focus surrounds the ideas of Blended Learning. I know that in order for me to remain focused on proper implementation, I must keep and continue to hold my own personal Learner and Growth Mindset. This will ensure a strong focus remains on the school's priorities and goals are kept at the forefront each step along the way.


Currently in my education career, I am not teaching on a school campus. Instead, I moved back near to family while pursuing studies for my Master's Degree. Because of this, it has been difficult to take concrete steps toward implementation of my Innovation Plan and proposal. This has not, however, slowed down my studying and curiosity for in-depth working knowledge of educational trends and best practices.


  • Analyze, assess, and reflect on the learning process you have undergone by working on your innovation project.

When considering my Learning Outcomes, I must admit that it's exciting to consider the implementation of these Blended Learning ideas for the upcoming new school year! Whatever job awaits will become an ample garden space for personal and professional growth. I know and understand that coordinated leadership efforts and clear Communication are keys for success.


I know that I have Reflected and continued to question every step of the way. It's great to see how questioning the questions can lead to such new discoveries! Making and setting coordinated Goals can also guide each step to ensure proper outcomes.


  • What worked & what could be done better?

When it comes to overall workmanship and effort, I believe that returning to my Publication would be a step in the right direction. I know that this writing can be done better after additional editing and revising. This would be a fun piece to rediscover and possibly even completely rewrite since I know that I can do better! What an honor it would be to see my writing and research published within an educational journal or magazine.


It would also be fun to revisit my Instructional Design concept and flush out the details. I enjoy making videos about my passions, so it would be a rewarding experience to take more efforts toward these video lessons. If this course went live for the public to experience, it would certainly be rewarding for me and fulfilling for my audience!


  • What lessons have been learned? What might you do differently?

I have learned that innovation takes hard WORK and PERSISTENCE. It's easiest to stick with the status quo, but nothing new ever came about from the norm. When we really challenge ourselves, we can see what NEW ideas might be waiting just around the corner.


I've also realized that with Change comes great responsibility. An idea will stay only an idea if actions aren't followed through. Teamwork is a great way to make sure that an idea becomes reality. It is my hope that I can help with the implementation of these changes and see them through!


  • How do you plan to promote and communicate your innovation project?

My plan for wider Blended Learning implementation begins with fellow teachers! The most effective means of realizing whole-school benefits will be best fulfilled if professional learning and targeted development takes place. After my recent studies, I feel ready and capable of assisting my campus with teaching the teachers about HOW and WHY a shift toward Blended Learning can be beneficial for all students. Creating a plan, setting actionable goals, providing support, allowing observational opportunities, and planning for practice opportunities will be great places to start.


  • How would you apply what you have learned to your next innovation project?

In the future, I know that any goal is possible for me to reach. Once a specific Problem has been pinpointed, then a solution can surely be achieved. Through the guidance of the COVA model and the consideration of positive Influences, a plan can be created and executed.


The past has already gone and the future is yet unknown. The only thing I understand for certain is today, the present. Each and every day I can set off to focus and work toward those solutions! If there's one think I know I'm good at, it's perseverance. Creativity drives my need for helping others! It's exciting to think about the next project I can begin to research and accomplish. So to that challenge, I say, "Bring it on!"


~Hannah



References


Harapnuik, D. (2021, February 9). Learner’s mindset explained. Harapnuik.org.


https://www.harapnuik.org/?p=8705


Stevens, E. (2016, June 20). Innovation on projects with trish sutter. Elise Stevens;


Futureproof Your Career. https://elisestevens.co/innovation-on-projects-trish-sutter/


10 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page